Eat Live & Breathe

For Lovers of Food, Travelling & Life

Delicious Banoffee Pie

I have to confess, I don’t have much of a sweet tooth – I’ll take a slice of buttered toast over a mars bar any day. But there is one sweet dish I don’t mind whipping out the whisk for – and that’s the delicious, creamy and sweet Banoffee Pie…

I learnt this recipe from a Greek friend of mine at University. She was married and had her own house, so we often popped over to hang at hers, and on many occasions enjoy Greek delicacies. Banoffee Pie however, is not Greek at all. Since, I’ve taken her recipe and have made it my own, and with many attempts behind me, I decided to make it for the umpteenth time.

Banoffee Pie

Banoffee Pie

I recommend serving the pie as illustrated above, once I decided to go all out and made individual Banoffee Pie’s in glasses. Boy they were a bugger to eat, with the biscuit base rock solid at the bottom of the glass. I swear it was like working off the calories as we ate! If only it can be as easy as that…

Anyway, this is a real quick and easy treat for lovers of all things sweet. Just make sure you have plenty of people to help you eat it! Bon appetite!

Ingredients:

1 packet of Digestive Biscuits

50g melted Unsalted Butter

1 tin of Condensed Milk

4 large Bananas sliced

1 tub of Double Cream whipped

Method:

Boil the tin of Condensed Milk for 1 hour on a medium-low heat. Then remove from water and allow to cool.

Beat the Biscuits in a bag with a rolling pin till they are all crumbled up. Add enough melted butter to the biscuit mix so that it binds together. Try to use the butter sparingly – we don’t want to add extraneous amounts of calories if we don’t have to. Press the biscuit mixture into the base of a dessert dish (approximately 8″) and refridgerate for 20 minutes.

The next step is to spread the biscuit base with a thin layer of the boiled condensed milk, which should now have a thick toffee like consistency. Try to resist the urge to lick your fingers…you might not stop!

Finally, add a layer of sliced bananas on top of the toffee layer and then cover generously with whipped cream. As the dish is sweet enough, it’s best to use plain whipping cream – don’t cheat by using the pre-whipped sweeetened stuff. The cream is meant to balance off the pie.

Your Banoffee Pie is then ready to serve, with a few shavings or sprinking of chocolate if it tickles your fancy!

Enjoy!

2 Comments»

  sublimate wrote @

Banoffee Pie is my all-time favorite and as my partner has to avoid sugar I mostly get to pig the lot, yum yum. This will be attempted tonight.

  eatlivebreathe wrote @

Hello Sublimate! Thank you for taking the time to read my post, and leaving a comment. I hope you enjoy the Banoffee Pie tonight!

It’s interesting that you mention that your partner has to avoid sugar. My father is diabetic, so too rations his daily sugar and carb intake. I recently went home and decided to make Banoffe Pie for Mother’s Day, and did my best to keep the calories to a minimum.

I would recommend substituting the regular digestives for those suitable for a diabetic diet, and forget adding the melted butter. Instead, boil some low-fat condensed milk for the same amount of time, allow it to cool and pour sparingly over the biscuit, but enough to bind the crumbs. Then add the banana slices and cream.

This is just a tip I was thinking of adding to my post earlier, but as you mentioned your partner avoids sugar, I thought I might share it with you.

Please note, that I am in no way suggesting that this lower-fat/sugar recipe is suitable for diabetics, as I am not a dietician. I like eating healthily, and want to promote a healthy lifestyle through my blog as well. I hope you try this alternative recipe, and drop back and tell me what you think. I would have to say, it’s not the same, but on the other hand, is not far off either.


Leave a Reply

