Eat Live & Breathe

For Lovers of Food, Travelling & Life

New York Bagel with Lox Spread

Still buzzing from my first New York City adventure, I wanted to share with you one of my morning delights on my week-long escapade: the infamous New York Bagel. Available almost everywhere, these donut shaped treats are served with a variety of toppings, most common of which is cream cheese. 

As a soul searching for absolute gastronomic satisfaction I embarked with my partner in all things hot and spicy to H&H Bagels where we indulged in what became a morning breakfast tradition. As a native English speaker I thought I knew it all, until I was confronted by ‘lox’ which stared back at me from the menu. Searching through my travel guide book like a confused tourist in a foreign land I became educated on one of New York City’s colloquial terms. Lox = Smoked Salmon. 

H&H Bagel: Cream Cheese with Lox Spread

 

Lox is usually served in two ways: either chopped and mixed with cream cheese (Bagel with Lox Spread,) or as thin slivers sitting on top of a cream cheese bagel (Bagel with Cream Cheese and Lox.) My choice can be seen in the image above.

I highly recommend these bagels. though I also tried other local bagel stores and they were equally pleasing. Whatever you do on your next or first trip to New York, don’t forget to try out this New York tradition, and if you can’t wait, try out my recipe here.

Till next time, eet smakelijk!

Bagel with Lox Spread

1 tub Cream Cheese

3oz  Smoked Salmon chopped

1/4 tsp Garlic Powder

1/4 tsp Paprika

Sliced Onions

Bagel of choice (mine is onion every-time)

 

Mix the smoked salmon, garlic powder and paprika into the cream cheese. Slice your bagel length ways and toast if desired. Spread the filling onto your bagel and top with the sliced onions, and you’re ready to go! The onions are purely optional, they didn’t actually come with the bagel I ordered in New York, but I asked for it nonetheless. Be sure to have some gum handy!

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

